Blue Valentine

I just got done watching Blue Valentine. Yes, it did take a while to get down here to Baton Rouge. I have to say even after knowing it was going to be a depressing, uncomfortable movie I am surprised by how sad the movie made me. I don’t think that any of the other people watching that movie had any idea what it was going to be about. They all ended up walking out pissed off.
You want to feel bad for Dean because he really loves her but Dean is happy to not do anything with his life. To not be anything but ordinary. He doesn’t want to do anything to make his life better.
It is just a sad movie about the break up of a young marriage. You totally see she is at her wits end. I guess the people walking out were right no one wants to be depressed by a movie. Yeah, I know I did it to myself. I knew what I was getting into when I was walking in. I’m by no means saying don’t go see the movie just know what you are walking into.

About bosco2579

I'm a Southerner, a Traveler, a sports fanatic, a techie, a dreamer, a politician, a terrible speller, and impulsive. I love visiting new cities and seeing what they have to offer. I have a desk job but would much rather have a job on ESPN talking about SEC football. I heart LSU sports, purple, cupcakes, and Better Than Ezra. I wish it was still the Tom Ford era of Gucci (he is just so iconic). I love a good book it is an amazing way to escape. View all posts by bosco2579

2 responses to “Blue Valentine

  • Aidan Donnelley Rowley @ Ivy League Insecurities

    I really want to see this movie even though I have heard that it is terribly depressing. I don’t mind depressing in a movie. I like art that mimics life and sometimes life isn’t pretty.

    • bosco2579

      It really is depressing but I agree about art mimicking life. It was just funny when I walked into the theater the type of people who were in the showing. It was a range of frat boys and older people. I really believe that I was the only one that had a clue what this movie was going to be about or like. While walking out you could hear all of them saying how terrible it was. But once again you have to understand I live in Baton Rouge, LA and this isn’t the type of movie people here are used to. It got real uncomfortable during the couple of sex scenes because you could hear the men my grandpa’s age doing the throat clearing and seat shuffling.

      We don’t have this movie yet but a friend of mine lives in New York and she just went see Somewhere with Dakota Fanning’s little sister. Said it was great but I don’t expect less from Sofia Coppola. I know they are both showing at that theater by Crate and Barrel near Soho.

Leave a Reply

