Locks of Love

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


So yesterday was Valentine’s Day or as most people like to call it Tuesday. Because yesterday was all about Love it reminded me of one of my favorite traditions in Europe where a couple will take a lock, write their name on it, lock it to a bridge, and throw the key in the river. The way I interpret this is it symbolizes that they will be together forever. Super Sweet! I found these little symbols all over Europe. I think I first fell in love with them in Paris on a bridge near the Louvre. It made me wish I was in Paris with that special someone so we too could take a lock, write our initials on it, and throw away the key locked together for all eternity (or until the city decided to come cut our lock off with a bolt cutter because the locks are becoming overwhelming). In Florence I found these locks everywhere not just on bridges. If there was a place near the river to place the lock there would be a group clustered together.
Here’s a link to Garance Dore speaking about the Locks. Hope you enjoy!

About bosco2579

I'm a Southerner, a Traveler, a sports fanatic, a techie, a dreamer, a politician, a terrible speller, and impulsive. I love visiting new cities and seeing what they have to offer. I have a desk job but would much rather have a job on ESPN talking about SEC football. I heart LSU sports, purple, cupcakes, and Better Than Ezra. I wish it was still the Tom Ford era of Gucci (he is just so iconic). I love a good book it is an amazing way to escape. View all posts by bosco2579

Leave a Reply

